PDA

View Full Version : HELP! Broken tap

ammohead
03-24-2010, 09:45 PM
Like a gorilla I went and broke a bottoming tap off in the receiver ring of a 98 mauser. Any tips or am I hosed. This is for a Leupold scope base. All of these years I have been lucky, I guess my luck ran out.

ammohead

Johnch
03-24-2010, 10:04 PM
I am no expert or a gunsmith
But I have broken a few tap's off and got them all out 1 of 2 ways

Choice #1 way is if the tap is close enough to the surface and I can get a small punch on it
I will then break up the tap with the punch and pick it out with a dental pick

Choice #2 is to use a small diamond spurr for my dremmel and cut the tap into pieces

Choice #3 I have not had to use
But I was told by a local machine shop
If in a real pinch , they could burn a tap out for me with a tap burner
Not exactly sure how it works , as I haven't needed to have it done

John

RayinNH
03-24-2010, 10:10 PM
Don't know if any of this will help, but worth the read just in case...Ray

http://www.metalartspress.com/PDFs/Removing_Frozen_or_Broken_Taps_and_Fasteners.pdf

ANeat
03-24-2010, 10:34 PM
Like John said; It may just break out. many of the small taps are brittle enough where they will break up pretty easily. If not grind it out.

Ive used a burnout machine before, its not real good on the small holes. On most you have a hollow consumable electrode that basicly burns the tap out with vibration and electrical current (the vibration keeps the electrode from sticking)
On big taps its easier to stay away from the sides (dont want to burn a hole in the part)

When you get it out if the hole is too buggered up to clean up brownells carries oversized taps and screws that can save the situation

Ernest
03-24-2010, 10:41 PM