PDA

View Full Version : marlin 35 rem and lead boolits

Deputy Dog
03-20-2010, 07:55 PM
I am new to computers I asked this question and Iknow its somewhere on this forum. I want to know if any one has had good results with micro-groove barrels and lead boolits I have just bought this marlin and was wandering if it was worth my time to try and shoot lead in it.

454PB
03-20-2010, 08:42 PM
Yes. I have a 336 Marlin with microgroove barrel in .35 Remington, and it shoots great with the RCBS 200 gr. FN sized .358".

izzyjoe
03-20-2010, 09:14 PM
:grin: yes you can,and vey well in some cases. you can shoot pistol boolits to. you need to size them +.001-.002 over bore size, but they make for fun shoot'n. do some look'n back in the old threads you might find what your look'n for. oh' and welcome aboard, but be careful this is habit forming!:Fire:

Deputy Dog
03-21-2010, 12:43 AM
Thanks for the insight I was told that it did not like lead . Guess I have to order another mould. Also heard lead wheel weights are by law being replaced by zinc better get what you can while they can be had. Iam down to about150#andabout 50# of linotype.

Newtire
03-21-2010, 10:11 AM
Hi Deputy Dog,
So far, I've been able to get both of my micro-groove Marlins to shoot cast wheelweight boolits just fine. One is a .30-30 and the other is a .444. Just make sure the slug is big enough in diameter. (We have beat that topic to death around here so won't go into it.)

I have a .35 Remington 336 with 24" barrel but it's not micro-groove. It likes a 12 grain charge of Unique and a 190 grain plain-based boolit for a plinker. For a heavy load, I use H-335 and the 190 grain Ranch Dog. I would bet the RCBS made for that round works great too, judging by what their bullet for the .32 does in my .32 special.

jlchucker
03-21-2010, 12:03 PM