PDA

View Full Version : Newb here with ? about mold lube

youngwilliam
03-13-2010, 03:43 PM
Hey all,
Been lurking here for awhile now and decided to join. I have been reloading now for about 2 years, mostly fmj and plated.
I bought some 200 gr. lswc for my 1911's and thought that it would be cool to cast my own.
Stumbled onto this site, and glad I did. I can't believe all of the casting knowledge here.
Anyway, picked about 7 gallons of wheel weights the other day and almost ready to smelt them down.
I have collected about everything I need to smelt and cast except a pot to smelt in and a suitable mold lube. I have ordered some bullplate, but it might be awhile before i get it.
What is a good lube, that is readily available that will get me by until the bull plate gets here?
Thanks in advance for any tips.

mooman76
03-13-2010, 03:57 PM
WD40 will work in a pinch or a high temp lube.

Casting Timmy
03-13-2010, 08:53 PM
I use a crayon to lube my molds. They're cheap and they work.

Smoke the inside cavities and then after the mold is up to temp, lightly touch the crayon to the mold at the joints and you're ready to go.

Edubya
03-13-2010, 10:26 PM
Depends. Not your adult diapers, but it depends on the type of mould. If it's a Lee, or aluminum, follow their instructions and use wax. You can also, do as many of us have done, use Kano Kroil. Just be careful that you do not get any lube in the mould cavities.
EW

03-14-2010, 12:20 AM
youngwilliam,
First thing you need to do is disassemble and thoroughly clean the mould. Spray brake parts cleaner followed by Dawn dishsoap and hot water, works for me. When reassembling, I apply anti-sieze to all the screws and the bottom of the sprue plate. If the mould is a Lee, read the Leementing sticky. I don't find a need to smoke any of my moulds. To get your boolits to "fall" out of the mould, read the Kroil sticky.

Springfield
03-14-2010, 01:07 AM