PDA

View Full Version : Stupid, stupid, stuuuuuuuuupid

omgb
06-23-2006, 02:38 AM
I've been casting bullets since 1976 so I've cast more than a few over the years. It's been a while however since I've cast anything much under 500 grains and in less than 45 caliber. To get big 45 cal bullets to fill out and have nice sharp edges, one has to cast fairly hot. Yesterday however, I sat down and cast 500 bullets in .38 cal from a Lyman mould I just bought from a nice gentleman here on cast bullets. naturally, I left the temp setting on my Lee 20 pounder right where it usually sits. This made some frosty looking bullets but I wasn't worried. Shoot, the mould running hot like that just dropped the bullets out without even a tap. Of course, I was using Lyman #2 alloy and just because I could, I dropped them into cold water to harden them up. (anyone see the problem yet?) So, I go to size them at .377 in an RCBS lube-o-matic using White Lightening lube. These bullets were rock-freeken-hard and of course, because they were cast hot, larger than normal by maybe .002. I managed to horse about 25 of these through the machine and then BINGO, I got one stuck. I freed it and sized a couple more and bang, it happened again. This went on for maybe 50 more bullets and then I jammed one in there real good. After a lot of work, I got it out. So, what's afellow to do? Buy a lager die and size them in two steps? Well, that might have worked. I could have bought a die for my Star and sized them that way, but that would have cost me a tad over $40.00 by the time I factored in shipping, and a new base punch. Instead, I remelted the whole lot and recast them, this time allowing them to air cool and I dialed down the temp to just hot enough to keep the bottom pour spout from clogging up. This time, they all went through like "buttah". You would think that after all of these years I'd know better than to cast hot and water chill before sizing. Stupid, stupid, stupid. Oh well.....I saved the cas