PDA

View Full Version : Round Nose Bullet Expansion?

RangerBob
06-21-2006, 06:46 AM
I have been playing with a 400gr RNHB bullet in my .458WM. This bullet is designed for BP, has wide lube grooves, a hollow base, and a very blunt round nose. It does not like to be driven too fast.

I have had some success (accuracy) with 2400 and 5744. Over the weekend I shot a <1" group at 50yds with this bullet and 5744 (about 1500fps). Next weekend I will probably try the same load at 100yds.

Anyway, I recovered one bullet from the backstop (damp earth) and found that the nose of the bullet had mushroomed so wide, that the mushroom sheared and the base of the bullet shot through for additional penetration. This seems like nearly ideal bullet performance for hunting deer.

Question: do you think that a 400gr RN bullet, cast of air cooled wheel weights, driven to 1500fps will expand on deer. Any experience here?

I have some cast bullet experience on deer, but it's all with FP bullets and I didn't care if I got expansion.

Thanks for any comments,

Bob.

Bret4207
06-21-2006, 07:09 AM
Damp earth is much more resistant than flesh. The expansion dynamics are way different. That being said, yes, I imagine that load would KO any deer on earth given proper shot placement, and no, I don't think ACWW will expand much. There just isn't much to a deer when you come down to brass tacks. Try straight WW or WW cut with pure lead. Your "very blunt round nose" will be more likely to expand is cast quite soft, although if blunt enough it will do it's own work ala 311440, 358009. Air cooling of WW, IMHO, is needed more for handling a particular barrel than for wound creation. You can also try hollow pointing some boolits with a Foster tool or similar set up.

versifier
06-21-2006, 01:30 PM