PDA

View Full Version : Could really use some help with leading

alping45
02-17-2010, 08:23 PM
Not sure if I put this in the right place, this is my first post. I am a bit of a noob to casting and reloading with cast boolits and have been trying them out with .38sp, .357mag, 40s&w, 45acp, .45lc and .454 casull. I have no problem with the casting, trouble is I can not get rid of the leading in my guns. Thing is, I have almost zero trouble with strait lead as long as I keep it under 900fps or so depending on the gun. But I have not been able to develop a single load using wheel weights, either strait or alloy, without leading my barrels. I have tried adding solder to harden, and lead to soften. I have been quenching the boolits out of the mold, also tried air cooling, but not heat treating? Guns I am using are a GP100, SRH Alaskan .454, S&W m15 .38, SIG P220 .45acp and a SIG P226 40s&w. It seems that with the revo's the leading is closer to the chamber while in the autos its towards the bore. I have tried basically every pistol powder there is in varying charges ranging from very low to very high to try get the bullet to obturate, with no real success. I have slugged all my bores and am sizing my boolits .001 to .002 over. I have checked the cylinder throats on all revo's and they are where they should be, about .001 - .002 over the bore.
I have been using all lee molds, and have been tumble lubing all my bullets with the lee liquid alox, after sizing. Now that I think about it, I guess the lube would be the only thing I have not experimented with yet...? And just to see if the problem was my boolits, I bought some commercial hardcast 158gr swc .357 from wideners and get the exact same results in my GP.Can anyone tell me what else I am missing? I have spent a ton of time over the last few months experimenting trying to figure this out and am getting close to going back to jacketed/plated bullets.

Blammer
02-17-2010, 09:49 PM
You need a better lube.