PDA

View Full Version : Cast Boolit Designs and Theory Questions

Uncle Grinch
06-15-2006, 02:05 PM
Although I have been reloading for close to 35 years and casting for almost 20, I feel more and more ignorant after reading some of the posts that this forum offers up. We obviously have some very intelligent and experienced users here.

I would like for someone to give me a basic primer in cast bullet design, ie... , what do you look for in a cast boolit that makes it accurate, other than the mechanics of casting, that is. I see terms like Loverin, Postell, bore-riding and others, but I don't really know the difference in them.

I have Lyman's Cast Bullet Manual and can see the physical differences, but what are the dynamics that makes one different or better than the other?

sundog
06-15-2006, 02:28 PM
Mike, while I do not espouse to all the theories that Veral Smith puts forward in his book, it is a good read, and provides alot upon which to ponder. Might be worth getting or borrowing a copy. Maybe someone on here can help with exact address.

Here's a neat reference in case you have not seen it before:
http://www.lasc.us/CastBulletNotes.htm

btw, thanks for supporting the NRA. I am a Patron Member, life since mid 70s. They may not be everything everyone wants, but they are the best game in town! sundog

Bass Ackward
06-15-2006, 02:34 PM
Although I have been reloading for close to 35 years and casting for almost 20, I feel more and more ignorant after reading some of the posts that this forum offers up. We obviously have some very intelligent and experienced users here.

I would like for someone to give me a basic primer in cast bullet design, ie... , what do you look for in a cast boolit that makes it accurate, other than the mechanics of casting, that is. I see terms like Loverin, Postell, bore-riding and others, but I don't really know the difference in them.