PDA

View Full Version : whats this metal??

69daytona
02-14-2010, 08:11 PM
I bought 40 lbs of pewter today and one piece was shiny like silver and when I tried to melt it with the oxy acetelyne it took a lot to get it to melt and and soon as the heat was taken away it would stop and when cooled has a slight copper tint to it.
Couldnt find and silver proof marks, any ideas, it shines up real nice like silver, I havent found any warewolfs to kill lately so dont need silver bullets.

lwknight
02-14-2010, 08:50 PM
Maybe you did get silver. Could be anything from 40 to 100 percent. Silver is hard and rings.

Edubya
02-14-2010, 08:51 PM
I'm by no means an expert but from your coloration description and the intense heat, I would think that it is silver.
EW

69daytona
02-14-2010, 11:38 PM
it rings like a bell when tapped. I will have to send it with my son, he is in a jewelery casting class, if its silver I will have a set of grips made for my 1914 colt SAA, he is making a mold for the snakes like on clint eastwoods speggetti western guns.

Gelandangan
02-16-2010, 11:55 PM
If the metal can be smelted in your pot, it is good to cast! and most likely it is NOT silver.
Silver require a LOT of heat to melt (pure silver melt at 1760 F and lowest melting temp alloy is about 1100 F ) and I am sure a standard electric lead pot cannot get hot enough to melt silver.

Silver would run when it is glowing red hot.

I got about 200 grams of almost pure silver flakes given to me from a mate and I have big problem trying to smelt it.

docone31
02-17-2010, 12:00 AM
It sounds like it might be silver plate.
That is a central core, usually a white metal with an high temp melt point, and Sterling outer and inner layers.
It is not plateing, it is literally silver filled stock.
My guess is Silver Plate.
Melted down, it can be cast, but it will have an high percentage of base metal for the alloy.
Still, it will be a good casting. Will just tarnish quickly.

With the silver flakes,