PDA

View Full Version : Monotype or Linotype

hornady
02-12-2010, 10:08 AM
I have read Monotype is harder than Linotype. Is there a way to look at the two. To distinguish between the two. The reason for this question, I ordered a box of Linotype. This was advertised as Linotype. In the past all the Linotype I have gotten was in 1/8 x ½ x 6 or 8 inch strips. The box I got the other day was all single letters on 1/8x1/8 by ½ inch. Would this be monotype.

old turtle
02-12-2010, 10:22 AM
Some time ago I was given a 5 gallon bucket of linotype which had been used by a newspaper. Some were long strips of letters making sentences and others were single small letters which were about 1/8" by 1/8". Some were 1/2" square capital letters. In short I would think that you have linotype. Unfortunatly I have not received any free linotype since but I am thankful for that blessing.

jlchucker
02-12-2010, 10:24 AM
Many years ago, when I was a college student, I had a summer job in a small print shop. Lots of the equipment was old, to say the least. They had monotype and linotype. Monotype is very hard, and the machines somehow cast those little single letters individually, to be loaded into frames that make up pages. Linotype works kind of like this, but in a print shop is cast up into little strips that individually make up a word or sentence. As I remember it, monotype was much harder. That old print shop is long gone. They printed city directories. At one time my assigned duty was melting up the used type into ingots that eventually found their way to the machines. The two materials, mono and lino, were kept separate all the way.

harrya
02-12-2010, 11:00 AM