PDA

View Full Version : Another stupid new-B. load work up question.

penguinchicken
02-07-2010, 09:29 AM
So I know this has been brought up many times but I am new to this game and bad at research.
How do you guys work up loads on new moulds? I thought I heard you could use data for jacketed stuff but change it by a set percentage? any thoughts or redirects would be appreciated!

jr545
02-07-2010, 09:44 AM
The way "I" do it is to find jacketed data in the given weight range or go through some of my old load books that list alot more pb data and find somthing similar and start there.
Keep in mind that a lot of the older data has powder formulations that have changed over the years so if the data is old you may want to check what changes have been made to the powder.
There is alot of info on this site and others as to what works best with cast bullets. I have worked up alot of wonderful loads by reading what bullet/powder combos have worked for others.

kyle623
02-07-2010, 09:54 AM
if you dont have lymans cast bullet book, get it, it will have most of the load data you need. also lee's reloading book has alot of cast bullet loads too. just stay pretty much with the same bullet weight and style as you are reloading. if you cant find the weight bullet you have go to the next heavier bullet and start at the low end of the load data.

Shooter6br
02-07-2010, 10:10 AM
I use data for jacketed,but select the lowest velocity data. Also the velocity based of the composition of my alloy. I use Lyman no 1 or wheel weights for most solid loads. Just getting into hollow points using 20-1 or maybe 25-1 based on expected velocity range of 900 to 1200 fps. justa though Rick

44man
02-07-2010, 10:16 AM
So I know this has been brought up many times but I am new to this game and bad at research.
How do you guys work up loads on new moulds? I thought I heard you could use data for jacketed stuff but change it by a set percentage? any thoughts or redirects would be appreciated!