PDA

View Full Version : First post...Need bullet for 44-40 in Marlin 94, microgroove.

rdlange
02-07-2010, 01:56 AM
Want to cast bullets for my 44-40 94 Marlin w/microgroove barrel. I know I need larger dia. bullets for this barrel. (Also wondering how well factory 44-40 loads will work because the bullets are also undersized). Will be trying to slug barrel from chamber to get groove diameter asap.

Please recommend some good bullets for this gun, because I have zero experience.

Anyway, I would also like to use gas checks if I can for at least one powerful hunting load. Lyman 429215 is the lightest gas check I can find. I don't know if this will work, because it doesn't have a crimp groove, and it's heavier than the 200g usual for this cartridge. How does/will it work if I crimp in the top lube groove?

Or is there another way to crimp bullets without crimp grooves, so the bullets don't get pushed down into the case?

Or do I just forget about this idea entirely?

My friend recommends a Lee pushup sizer that will fit my press, and alox liquid.

New at this, so I'm not sure what to look for or ask about.

I'm not really interested in CAS, and since I have the gun.... friends hunt pigs and deer. Would like to do it also, with this gun. If I can get this gun to work for me I'll be keeping it awhile. It feels good.

Be Well,
Tom

GabbyM
02-07-2010, 09:18 AM
First the Lyman #429215 gas checked bullet does have a crimp grove. It's the #427098 that doesn't . It's designed to be loaded over a charge of compressed black powder to keep it from pushing farther into its case then crimped over the front drive band to prevent jumping out in a revolver or being pushed back out by the powder compression. #427098 works in revolver smokeless loads since a wheel gun tries to jump the bullets forward under recoil and that's covered with the over band crimp. But for a tube magazine it's just a hassle unless you're using BP. A SWC design may or may not feed well in you lever gun.