PDA

View Full Version : New guy from Maine

mcdonl
02-01-2010, 01:49 PM
Hi all... My name is Leroy, and I am a gun-a-holic.

I am a complete virgin when it comes to casting and other then reloading for my Mosin with a Lee Hand loader, I am new to reloading too.....

I have some things I have picked up:

Be careful. (Wear gloves, goggles/face mask, ventilation, long sleeves pants, etc....)
Scrape the sides of the pot.
Clips and Zinc will float to the top with the rest of the dross (Is dross correct?).
By making ingots first, I will have a cleaner product to start casting with.
Be careful. (Wear gloves, goggles/face mask, ventilation, long sleeves pants, etc....)

I guess that it all I know at this point. I know I will need to lubricate the boollits when I am done.

I am not 100% sure on the molds yet.

I want to start with a Lee 9mm mold but not sure which one. Powder is sporadic. I have the following available to me: Hodgdon H-110, Winchester Auto comp, Bullseye, Unique and Winchester 296. And, all I have for primers are Small Pistol Magnums.

I have a lot of 9mm brass.

Well, thats it. Great website. I look forward to learning a lot.

Ajax
02-01-2010, 01:58 PM
welcome to the site. you will gain alot of knowledge here. It is called dross.

Andy

bruce drake
02-01-2010, 01:59 PM
Well,

Welcome to the site, and be prepared to learn a lot if you take the time to read the forum. There is a lot of information regarding casting for and making reloads for that Mosin and your 9mm as well.

Bruce

Pepe Ray
02-01-2010, 03:14 PM
Hint, hint!!
It's a LONG drive from Kittery to Ft.Kent.

Gun show's coming up.
Sanford, Presque Isle, Biddeford, Newport,--- get the idea?
Pepe Ray

mcdonl
02-01-2010, 03:23 PM
Thanks pepe ray... how do I find out about the gun shows? I live pretty close to Sanford and Biddeford.

Also, some random questions... do media tumblers clean the inside of the brass also? And, what about bullet sizing/lubing?

Are those Lee sizers/lubers a good thing to have?