PDA

View Full Version : 41cal 250gr hollowpoint

jcunclejoe
01-31-2010, 12:21 AM
Ok, please forgive me if I screw this up. This is my first attempt at adding pictures to a post.

If they come through, this is a 41 caliber 240grain hollowpoint. I used a very large phillips screwdriver tip in my core seat die then closed the preformed cavity up around a round hollowpoint punch.

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=19411&stc=1&d=1264911400

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=19412&stc=1&d=1264911457

Swaging is fun.
Joe

ANeat
01-31-2010, 12:31 AM
Thats nice Joe, real nice. Its that a commercial half jacket or something home brewed?

BT Sniper
01-31-2010, 12:51 AM
Every time I walk into the hardware store and I see the star pattern screwdriver inserts I think to myself how could we use that for a hollow point. Glad to see someone else thing along the same lines. I used a allen wrench to make a really neat looking HP long before I got any swage dies. Hopfully I will incorperate it into a core seat die some day.

Nice work! How about a recovered bullet now? I have yet to shoot any of my 5 star notched jackets yet.

Now that you have figured out how to post pics keep em coming :)

What do you shoot such a big 41cal bullet from?

jcunclejoe
01-31-2010, 01:08 AM
Howdy BT, we need to make mutual trips to each others houses for show and tell. Maybe sometime in the next couple of weeks I can come West for a visit. I know you have a hard time getting away.
I'll shoot one for recovery tomorrow afternoon.
I shoot those from my slew of 41 mags. I use a double cannelure on them so they can be seated to SAAMI spec or .100 longer for increased powder capacity. At the .100 longer length they will fit in a Ruger (Blackhawk and Redhawk), FA, Smith and Marlin.