PDA

View Full Version : Black Powder

Taylor
01-30-2010, 09:08 AM
777 and Pyrodex and 45 colt and maybe someday a 45.70.Is there anything basic I should be aware of before I get too far into this? Right now I don't know what questions to ask.Other than muzzleloaders, I have no experience with BP cartridge's,never even fired one,or seen one!

Boz330
01-30-2010, 12:50 PM
777 and Pyrodex and 45 colt and maybe someday a 45.70.Is there anything basic I should be aware of before I get too far into this? Right now I don't know what questions to ask.Other than muzzleloaders, I have no experience with BP cartridge's,never even fired one,or seen one!

The biggest thing to be aware of is that it is fun and challenging. The best thing to do is read through some of the threads here that say something about newby. You will get some of the basics and then you will understand what is being talked about. Real BP is the only way to go though.

Bob

NickSS
01-30-2010, 02:38 PM
I agree with BOZ 330 but will add one thing. Whether you are using a BP substitute or BP fill the case up enough so that the bullet base at least slightly compresses the load. Believe me when I say that you can not get enough black powder or BP substitute into the case to cause pressure to be too high. If you do not at least slightly compress the powder you will have a lot more fouling and poor accuracy. I have found that some powder/ rifle combinations like a lot of compression. I have one sharps that when I shoot GOEX black in it I have to compress it .4" to get it to shoot and other combinations do will with a 1/16 inch compression so experiment with compression and note the loads that do well.

Taylor
01-31-2010, 09:05 AM