PDA

View Full Version : Hybrid Bullets.

Bwana
01-29-2010, 02:31 PM
I have been casting and swaging for thirty years and thought you might be interested in some of the bullets I make.
The process involves forming the jackets from cartridge cases and then filing them with molten lead.
The forming is all done with off the shelf reloading dies and Lee bullet sizing dies.
Here are a few pictures. I hope they turn out alright.
The first two are .458 made from 45ACP and 45GAP.
The next two are a 255gr and 202gr .358 for my .358Win. They are made from 223 brass.
The next three are .458 made from 308 brass, the first is 600grs.
If the pictures work I'll do more of other types.
If there is interest, I give the various steps.

ANeat
01-29-2010, 02:43 PM
Well Im interested, they look nice....

SWANEEDB
01-29-2010, 02:55 PM
Bring them on, we like em all.

Heavy lead
01-29-2010, 03:06 PM
Please enlighten us.

Multigunner
01-29-2010, 03:21 PM
I've seen the process before, in a very old American Rifleman journal.
If I find it again it has a few drawings of how this is acomplished and suggestions on how and why to do it.
From what I remember this was originally thought up to produce affordable tough jacketed ammo for older British double rifles in odd calibers, like .470 Nitro.

Since the French "Ball D" bullet was of solid bronze the brass cartridge case jackets are probably no more destructive to a bore than those would have been, or the steel jackets for that matter.

algunjunkie
01-29-2010, 03:31 PM
well my curiosity meter is peaked

Bwana
01-29-2010, 04:57 PM