PDA

View Full Version : Just getting started, finding WW not so easy...

davcar45
01-28-2010, 06:00 PM
So I have been shooting for 25 years and have been reloading nearly that long. I have been buying bullets from a local caster recently for $50/1000 .45 200gr H&G 68. (a few years ago $38/1000) Well, the guy I know is getting way up in age, like 75 probably and he has more bullet orders than he can produce. He told me he didn't know when he would have my 3000 bullet order I placed 9/9/09 and that he was 300,000 behind.......

So, knowing he is going to meet his maker at some point and his wait time is 6 months or more on a few thousand bullets, I decided to investigate casting my own. This is something I have never wanted to mess with before but I think it is some good knowledge to have and I have more time than money so I have time to locate lead and cast etc....

I do not have any casting equipment yet. I do have a turkey fryer and and I know I can buy a cast iron pot at harbor freight for $20. So I thought before I go buying electric melting pots and molds and sizer/lubbers and all the other stuff required to cast I would try my hand and gathering up some wheel weight.

Well, it is kind of discouraging. I spent the day today driving to 15-18 tire shops and I think I got some weights from 4 maybe. I did end up with 200 pounds of WW. So it's not like the day was a total loss.

What I found out is some of the places already have a guy picking up WW that they have been dealing with for 20 years. Ok I get that and moved on. The big tire chains like Tire Discounters ain't nobody getting weights from them. I heard everything from it's illegal to give away or sell scrap lead to the company doesn't let us sell it or give it away company policy, the EPA is cracking down we can't sell it.... to corporate picks it up and recycles it and gets credit. The luck I had was in small places individually owned and operated.