PDA

View Full Version : Cast Bullet weight

ga_red_rider
01-26-2010, 09:13 PM
I've been shooting for 41 years, And at 54 I have decided I am way over due casting my own bullets. Thought about it for years but today is the day. I have a Lee melting pot (bottom pour) Lee aluminum 2 - 45 cal 230 grain mold and cast 100 bullets today from some ingot that I got. My son and I had a great time doing it.
It's now the 3rd quarter of 2011 and I've got the bug. Casting for many pistol caliber and now looking at casting for my rifles. Hard to beat the satisfaction of sending your own bullets down range :-)
Thanks for all the help you folks have given me.

Slow Elk 45/70
01-26-2010, 09:54 PM
Hullo and Welcome. Your softer boolits should be fine if you keep the velocity around 800-900fps....if they are sized correctly for your pistol's BBL. about .001-.002 over size works for most.
If you want to harden them, you can water drop them and harden them as long as the mix is not pure lead. This is a short answer , there is a ton of information in the Classics & Stickies and also a lot of good info if you go to the bottom of the page at the LASC site...good luck

243winxb
01-27-2010, 12:08 AM
You would seem to have a lot of pure lead in your alloy.
Bullet Sizes and Weights-
How to Vary Them

The bullet diameters and weights presented in this list are based on the use of Taracorp’s Lawrence Magnum bullet alloy (2% tin, 6% antimony, 1/4% arsenic, 91.75% lead).

You should be aware that bullet diameters and weights will vary considerably depending on the lead casting alloy used. This variation can be as much as 1/2% on the diameter, and 8% on the weight among the most commonly used casting alloys. For example, a .358-158 grain bullet might show a diameter variation of .002", and a 13 grain difference in weight.