PDA

View Full Version : ? wet chamber = case separarion ?

Range Gypsy
01-25-2010, 10:54 AM
I'm hoping someone can enlighten me.

I was reading the new "Handloader" and Mike referred to a wet chamber caused by a too short blow tube resulted in case separation.

I am new to BPC and so far have swabbed between shots. I have a blow tube made from one of my cartridges so I should be OK. [smilie=1:

Here's the but...
I have seen other competors using "stubby " blow tubes or borrowing "something that will sorta fit" I was not aware of a danger here. Am I right in thinking a blow tube must reach the front of the chamber? What occurs that moisture in the chamber can cause a case separation?

~ Range Gypsy

Mike Venturino
01-25-2010, 11:56 AM
Wet or oily chambers keep the cartridge case from "gripping" the chamber walls during firing, hence the brass flows forwards. At the least cases will stretch and at the worst they will completely separate. I've had them stretch so much without coming completely apart that you could see the beginning of the rifling imprinted in the case mouth.

Its best to use a blow tube the full length of the chamber. Many guys who wet patch between shots also dry the chamber with a shorter brush.
MLV

longranger
01-25-2010, 12:15 PM
Yes I have the same experience as Mr Venturino,I dry my chamber after wiping, my brass no longer stretches nearly as much.
And thank you Mr. Venturino for enlightening me on the 40-70SS.My favorite to tinker with.
Fan # 21-22?, glad to see you feeling better.:brokenima

martinibelgian
01-25-2010, 01:16 PM
Mmmmm, maybe I should try wetting my chamber in order to stretch my brass a bit??

Multigunner
01-25-2010, 02:50 PM
Liquids in a chamber also restrict expansion of the case neck, increasing pull strength and pressures.

SlamFire1
06-12-2011, 02:07 PM