PDA

View Full Version : I gave it a shot; My first time

HollowPoint
01-24-2010, 09:17 PM
I patched some .44 cal 240 grain round nose bullets last weekend. The weather here in my part of Arizona has been so crappy that I haven't been able to get out and shoot until today.

This was my first attempt at shooting paper patched anything. I intended to shoot them out of my Ruger Super BlackHawk Hunter and my Puma M92.

After slugging both guns I found a big difference in bore and groove dimensions so I ended having to size down my cast bullets for both guns.

The SBH had a .417 bore and a .429 groove while my M92 had a .427 bore and a .432 groove. To me that's a big difference.

Since I'm a newbie at this I went by the "book" and sized and patched according to the slugged dimensions of each gun.

I was really curious to see if PPB's would work in my revolver. In my minds-eye I pictured the paper jackets being sheared off at the mouth of the cylinders before they ever made it into the barrel.

This wasn't formal target shooting. I was more or less "stump-shooting." just picking clumps of wood or distant rocks to shoot at.

I could tell from the impact-spray that they were not hitting to far off my point of aim.

Both guns seemed to be shooting high but still centered. The Puma was about 6 inches high at 75 yards and the SBH was about 4 inches high at about 30 yards. I never did find any of the paper "Confetti" that I read about in many of these paper patching threads.

I had about 20 bullets loaded for the Puma M92 and only six for the SBH.

Out of curiosity I fired two of SBH bullets out of the M92 and two of the M92 bullets out of the SBH; just to see if there was any difference.

They did shoot but, from the impact-spray I could tell that they were no where near as accurate as the bullets I'd made up specifically for the individual guns. On the other hand, it could have just been bad shots made by me.

Two fired bullets aren't really enough to determine anything.