PDA

View Full Version : 300 savage gas check

06-04-2006, 08:54 PM
I'm new to bullet casting, but despite this have been able to cast, lube, size, and seat gas check on some 170 gr Lee FP 30 cal bullets. I'd like to load them in 300 Savage, but am concerned about the short neck on the case and the relatively long bullet. I "think" its bad to have the gas check seated so deep that it is no longer in the case neck, which will be necessary to get the cannelure and the case mouth to line up. Also, having the lube exposed to powder is bad too, yes?

Any suggestions on how to get around this? Seat the bullet higher and have the cannelure and case mouth not match (I never planned on crimping this load)?

No matter what, this won't be a waste -- these bullets will find their way into some kind of cartridge case -- a 30-06 will surely solve this problem.

Josh

chunkum
06-04-2006, 11:13 PM
I'd be interested in hearing a few voices of experience on this one myself. Years ago I had a .300 Savage M 99 RS and loaded a few cast bullet for it just for funsies. I was new to casting and not real experienced with reloading bottleneck rifle cartridges either. My bullet was the Lyman 311291 and I pondered the same questions you pose now. My associates assured me that it was not an absolute thing but the higher you could seat the bullet without going over mag length, the better. And if any lube grooves might be intruding on the powder space, they shoud be cleaned out before seating. I'd think exact alignment of the case neck with the cannelure groove is a lesser consideration, particularly since sufficient neck tension pretty much makes a crimp unnecessary in non tubular mag rifles.
Hopefully someone on this board with more practical experience can comment and clear up this apparent impasse of characteristics of bullet and brass.
Best Regards,
chunkum

454PB
06-05-2006, 12:33 AM