PDA

View Full Version : Adventures in hollow pointing

Blammer
01-22-2010, 09:17 PM
I have a friend who claims to be an expert machinist with the best tools available to the common layman. One day I get a phone call, he says he has some free time and if I want to come over and hollow point a mould he'll be happy to let me in on a few secrets of the trade. Him being an expert machinist I jump at the chance to learn a few things from such a master.

I grab my Lyman SC 311041 that I've been having thoughts about turning into a HP mould and the keys to my truck an out the door I go to get some education.

When I arrive and beat on the basement door, I find my expert machinist oiling up a few rusty tools to get them ready for use on the project.
I show him the mould and then with a few utterances under his breath he rummages around and starts looking through a dusty rusty old box full of stuff. A few minutes later after some more mumbling what apears to look like a drill bit of sorts appears, then just as quick the drill is plucked off the wall, bit inserted and work is about ready to commence.

After concluding that my hands are not strong enough to hold the mould while the drilling is to start, he leans over and hands me a pipe wrench of sorts. Mumbles something about "hold it tight" and motions for me to use the soft topped stool to place the work piece on. I have included a photo.

http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g81/blammer8mm/Stuff/DSCN7823.jpg