PDA

View Full Version : ?? For those that water drop

Vance in Ak
01-17-2010, 10:55 AM
For those of you that water drop your bullets while casting, how do you keep them from getting banged up by each other?
I'm just getting started, but I loose at least 10% to damaged bullets.
How deep is your bucket, how do you cushion the bullets, etc?????

dubber123
01-17-2010, 11:01 AM
The deeper the better, (within reason). I stretch a T-shirt over the opening, and cut a small slit in it. Push the shirt in until it has a pool of water above it, and drop your boolits onto that. You'll prolly have to keep a stick handy to poke them through the hole occasionally. Really cuts down on the dents.

Jeffery8mm
01-17-2010, 11:07 AM
The deeper the better, (within reason). I stretch a T-shirt over the opening, and cut a small slit in it. Push the shirt in until it has a pool of water above it, and drop your boolits onto that. You'll prolly have to keep a stick handy to poke them through the hole occasionally. Really cuts down on the dents.

+1
Thats the way to do it!!
Jeff

Phat Man Mike
01-17-2010, 11:09 AM
I use a 5 gal bucket and it's half full. I drop my boolits on a damp towel and it rolls down a pipe then drop's in the bucket with another towel with a cut in it! sounds long winded but works for me!!
http://i63.photobucket.com/albums/h130/ziggytrucker/highpoint%20talk/21may2009005.jpg

docone31
01-17-2010, 11:16 AM
I set my "gig" up, with my casting pot at eye level, and my dump pot at shoulder level. This way, it is a straight dump into the water. I watch the sprue for the freeze. I try to time it at six seconds.
I use a deep pot. This I fill half with water.
I do not get damage this way.
A five gallon pail would do well. Fill it half with water.

mooman76
01-17-2010, 11:33 AM
I also use a 5gal bucket half filled. I place it on a chair almost directly behind me so I have to turn around. This avoids the splash getting too far and sence it's on a chair, they don't get dropped far.