PDA

View Full Version : Newbie questions

sorenlaf
01-16-2010, 01:27 PM
Hi everyone, this is my first post here. I'm looking for some basic casting and equipment information.

I've been reloading for about 15 years and have considered casting my own bullets for a while now.

So...

Equipment.

Casting furnace.

I'm considering a Lee Pro 4 20. The reviews on the Midway website suggest it's probably the best offering from Lee.

My experience with other Lee products is that they are well engineered, but often executed somewhat less well.

What are people's experience with that furnace? I know it may dribble a little at times.

Molds.

The Lee molds look like a good deal, and I like the fact that they will cast 6 as once. However, I'm wondering if they fall into the "too good to be true" catagory.

I will probably buy at least one Lyman 4 cavity mold, their 147gn 9mm truncated cone, because I really like that bullet.

The other mold I'll definately be buying is a 45acp 200gn swc. Here, my inclination is to go with the Lee, unless people here recommend otherwise.

Lube.

Most of the loads I expect to shoot with cast bullets will be subsonic. Some of my research suggests that dry moly alone will be sufficient (and easy) for loads in the 800-1000 ft/sec range. Any comments or other recommendations?

Sizing.

The Lee size dies look both cheap and convenient. Any problems with them?

Would there be a significant advantage to a lube-sizer over the Lee dies if I'm not using a hard lube?

Casting rate.

I tend to be able to set up my work area to allow me to work efficiently, but without rushing - rushing seem like it would be a Bad Thing when working with molten lead...

Once the mold and lead is up to temperature, about how long does it take to fill, cool, and empty a mold?