PDA

View Full Version : Lee c309-180-r

MaxJon
01-15-2010, 03:07 AM
Hi all! I am very new to the hobby of bullet casting, I have been shooting some .30calibre as cast (LEE C309-180-R) bullets in my Mauser 98 .308 with varied success.
The problem i have is the bullets vary in weight from 178.5gr to 183grns.
Is it because i am ladle casting?
Is it the melt inconsistency/or lead too hot/cold?
Is it the quality of the mould?
Should i be sizing the bullets?
Would sizing make them more consistent?
Thinking of getting the (RCBS 82014) 180gr flat nose, made of cast iron.
Can anyone recommend a .308 mould for accurate paper punching at subsonic speeds <1100fps???
Any info be gr8!!! PLEASE HELP!!!
Casting your own is gr8! No copper fouling to worry about, u beauty!!!
:-?:-?:-?:-?:-?:-?

hipirn
01-16-2010, 11:55 AM