PDA

View Full Version : hot plate or lee 4 20?

bigboredad
01-09-2010, 08:56 PM
I've been casting for about 8 months now and I cast almost everyday. When I started out I tried to keep cost down to make sure I did,t spend a lot until I found out if i enjoyed it or not. Well now I'm hooked I've been ladle casting with a hot plate and a soup ladle and was curious if a lee 4 20 is a worth while upgrade or if my money would be better spent on better molds. Time is not a worry and I've learned to ladle cast very well. Any and all suggestions would be appreciated thanks guys

mooman76
01-09-2010, 09:02 PM
If you are doing good like you are I'd get some more moulds and upgrade the pot later. I still ladle cast after almost 40 years. It works well for me so I see no reason to change now. I just upgraded to an electric pot about 2 years ago. before that I always used a coleman stove, turkey frier base or the kitchen stove. That worked well too but I wanted something a little simpler for the garage.

HeavyMetal
01-09-2010, 10:52 PM
It really depends on what you needs are.

If your feeding a 100 round a month BPCR ladle cast is just fine.

If you feeding a pair of IPSC guns and need 2000 rounds a month just to practise I think bumping up to a 4-20 ( or even two) is a good idea.

I ladle cast my HP boolits but use a pair of bottom pours for my 6 bangers when I need 45 or 9mm for a family get together ( first in line for chow at my mom's place can be "competative") LOL.

Basically take a good look at your needs, both current and future, and decide if new molds or more capacity is what you need.

Dale53
01-09-2010, 11:20 PM
I have been casting bullets for nearly sixty years. Get something that will work "tomorrow" when ever you buy.