PDA

View Full Version : Mold tuning questions.

Murphy
05-28-2006, 11:42 PM
Howdy Men,

Although I've been casting for close to 20 years, I've never read anything on how to 'tune' a bullet mold.

Up front, I have more Lyman molds than anything. Single, double and four cavity molds to be exact. I only have 2 four cavity molds...so those wouldn't be as important for as learning about 2 cavity molds. As for single cavity molds? I have probably no less than 5 hollow point molds. The Hollow Point molds are Thompsons #358156 & the #429215 and #429244. Keith style #358429 & #429421. I also have one very special mold that I picked up 'new in the box' a couple years back, but only used once to see how well the boolits would look. I paid a Kings ransom for it...Lyman #311041 Hollow Point.

So talk to me guys. How do you tune a Lyman mold?

Thanks,

Murphy

Calamity Jake
05-29-2006, 07:12 PM
The first thing I do to a new to me mold no matter the make is remove the spru plate and use a good machinest stone on the top edges to remove any burrs, then seperate the blocks and do the same to each half around the outside edges always pushing the stone toward outside so there are no burrs on the block faces then I put a very small bevel on the mold top where the faces come together, this helps venting at the top under the spru plate, being careful not to push burrs in the cavities.
Then the mold is degreased and cleaned using brake cleaner and old tooth brush, next the spru plate bottom is worker over with the stone and then polished with 320 wet or dry on a very flat surface(plate glass) this will sharpen the spru holes as I polish, then it's cleaned with brake cleaner.
In the past I have put a light coat of Midway mold prep on the spru plate bottom and mold top to prevent gauling and lead smearing(removeing any mold prep that gets in the cavities with a Q tip and brake cleaner) now I use bullshop spru plate lube, this stuff works great!!