PDA

View Full Version : wilson case trimmer

12-31-2009, 01:41 PM
i just bought a wilson case trimmer. i did not get the micro adj. one. i wish i had. with the corse threads on the case stop it is very hard to make a .001 adj. has any one put on a fine thread case stop? it also looks like if the bushing that the case stop bolt goes throu was 3/4" long instead of 1/2" it would be better. has any one changed one?

catmandu
01-02-2010, 03:23 PM
Here is a link to using the Wilson Case Trimmer that shows how to use a bench caliper to correctly adjust in small incriments.

http://www.surplusrifle.com/shooting2005/squeezeplay/index.asp

It is also a PDF file for download and saving.

Hope it helps,

Paul in WNY

Char-Gar
01-03-2010, 08:50 AM
I have been using a Wilson trimmer for 50+ years and have never felt the need to make .001 adjustments. The two important aspect of case trimming (rifle) is (1) keep the necks short enough so they don't jam into the chamber throat of the rifle and (2) keep the case necks uniform in length and square on the hends.

I keep one trimmed case as a gage and when I need to trim some more, I use that previously trimmed case to adjust the trimmer. Works for me!

Trying to adjust the case trimmer by .001" is truly majoring on the minor.

Shiloh
01-03-2010, 11:06 AM
I also use Chargar's method of a template piece of brass.

The Wilson trimmer is the most accurate trimmer I own. Set the machine a little long and measure your case after each turn of the cutter. When you get where you want, use that piece of brass as your template.

Once it is set, all brass is the exact same length.

SHiloh

stephen perry
01-03-2010, 11:40 AM