PDA

View Full Version : M1903...? Help/Suggestions?

ke7chv
12-23-2009, 10:45 PM
I inherited what I believe to be a M1903A1. The original wooden stock has been cut-off 5 3/4" forward of the rear sight. I would like to refit it with a full wooden stock. I am new to rifles in general, I don't know if I have an A1 or an A3, I don't know what stocks will fit my rifle, I'm just looking for advice. Here are some pictures of the rifle, and the remaining portions of the upper attachments/sling swivel.

[Clearly I wasn't paying attention, and posted in the wrong section. Bear with me while I attempt to remove this post.]

Dutchman
12-23-2009, 11:30 PM
Show the markings up by the front sight on the barrel and the markings, all of them including the serial number, on the receiver ring.

From the rear sight base it appears to be a 1903(modified) Remington. Not an 03A3 and not a 1903A1.

I'll guess April-May 1942.

Dutch

ke7chv
12-23-2009, 11:37 PM
"R A" emblem is a bulb with four 'roots/leaves/tentacles/' sprouting from it. "2-42"

"U.S. Remington Model 1903 30655989"

shotman
12-24-2009, 12:28 AM
well the 'bulb ' is a flameing bomb its the army symbol it looks like you have 03 that has been "worked on" the front sight is a A3 on a 03 barrel cant tell but looks like some one removed the cut off . Is barrel good inside? bet its not.

ke7chv
12-24-2009, 12:31 AM
Interior is perfect, or at least functioning very well. Cleaned it up, took it out to the range, put 30rds through it, and cleaned it afterward. No obstructions or damage to the rifling or interior anywhere.

Bob S
12-24-2009, 12:45 AM