PDA

View Full Version : Smelting used bullets...am I wasting my time?

thegreatwrzesinski
12-17-2009, 11:19 PM
Ok so here's the thing, I am BRAND NEW to casting and I am trying to gather supplies.

I can get as many "once fired" bullets as I can carry from my local indoor range for free. A lot of these have copper jackets. Would it be worth it to collect them and melt them down to make boolits or would it be more trouble than it's worth?

RayinNH
12-17-2009, 11:28 PM
Nathan, welcome aboard. Any lead that is free is worth getting. Throw them in the smelting pot and when melted skim the jackets off with a slotted spoon. The jackets float to the top. Save the jackets in a bucket and turn them in to the recycler for more lead...Ray

thenaaks
12-17-2009, 11:37 PM
the range lead will be a little softer than wheel weights, but will be less messy also. the copper jackets are worth a bunch so make sure to keep 'em and sell when copper prices get high.

docone31
12-17-2009, 11:38 PM
Melt them!
They use soft lead in jacketeds. Good to mix with wheel weights.
Good for you.
Get all you can.

thegreatwrzesinski
12-18-2009, 12:56 AM
sounds good! thank you all for your responses!

ok now second question...what about jacketing the rounds? could I melt down the jackets and re-jacket the rounds? If not would it be possible to melt down the jackets and make gas checks? or would it be more cost/effort effective to sell the jacket and just buy gas checks?

sagacious
12-18-2009, 01:29 AM
ok now second question...what about jacketing the rounds? could I melt down the jackets and re-jacket the rounds? If not would it be possible to melt down the jackets and make gas checks? or would it be more cost/effort effective to sell the jacket and just buy gas checks?
Congrats on getting started. Any lead you can get your hands on is worth grabbing.