PDA

View Full Version : Shot group

dnorris
12-17-2009, 06:30 PM
Hi every body,
I am new to muzzleloading and I would like some input on what a person can exspect for a shot group of a muzzle loader say at 50 yards. I know muzzle loader shoot differant then modern fire arms but what kind of shot group should be able to be expected from a muzzleloader between 50 to 75 yards. I bought a 50 Cal. Optima break action used from a guy and I took the breach plug out to check the bore [ after the guy left and the deal was done] and the bore was very dirty. I cleaned it the best I could with what I had at the time, but the bore still looks pited. There were some 270 grain Sabot with the green plastic base skirts and there were pretty easy to start down the bore with just useing my thumb. I also had Pyrodox 50/50 and I used two pellets. I shot three times and at about 75 yards and they were shooting off close to a foot in about a two foot circle. To me I thought the Sabots should be tighter fitting. I ordered a 250 Grain REAL bullet mould and plan to cast my own. The REAL bullets have a Dia. of 517 which should be a snuger fit. Do some BP rifles just not have shot patterns. Did it help any of you that switched to REAL cast bullets with a tighter shot group? Or do I just need to think about a differant gun? I will appreciate and advice greatly. THANKS.
dnorris

12-17-2009, 06:56 PM
Well, how accurate at 50? Most, even the old, ancient, nearly caveman technology flintlocks with decent bores and good load technique should do about an inch at 50 yds with the lowly patched roundball. If you are bound and determined to go high tech then there are quite a few folks here that shoot the inlines that may add some insight.

If the bore is badly pitted then you might try to get another barrel for the gun or sell it as "pitted" and use the loss and experience as "dues paid".