PDA

View Full Version : I have 500 lbs of pure lead...how do I make it usable as a hangun boolit alloy?

Jayhem
12-12-2009, 07:50 PM
I'm a complete newbie to hangun boolit casting. I've been casting shotgun slugs and muzzleloader projectiles for years out of my supply of over 500 lbs of pure lead.

Now I'm getting into handgun casting and I have no clue what amounts of Tin/Antimony I need to add to my lead to get the right hardness for loads that will range from 800 - 1,000 fps.

What are my options and where can I get the alloys to mix with my lead? [smilie=s:

Phat Man Mike
12-12-2009, 08:03 PM
:bigsmyl2:rotometals sells all that's needed [smilie=s:

Jayhem
12-12-2009, 08:20 PM
:bigsmyl2:rotometals sells all that's needed [smilie=s:

I have been on their site. I'm not sure what I need though. I see that they have tin ingots for sale at $9.99 per lb but is tin all I need? If so how would I go about combining a tin ingot with my lead melt and what parts tin to lead would work well for handgun bullets?

Springfield
12-12-2009, 08:51 PM
You don't say what caliber but generally I find 1-2% tin in the lead works for most applications. Just throw the tin in with the lead and stir. Whether you do it in a big batch or just mix while casting is up to you, depending on your equipment. I always do big batches. If you need it harder still then you should find some wheelweights or linotype to harden it more.

Jayhem
12-12-2009, 08:53 PM
You don't say what caliber but generally I find 1-2% tin in the lead works for most applications. Just throw the tin in with the lead and stir. Whether you do it in a big batch or just mix while casting is up to you, depending on your equipment. I always do big batches. If you need it harder still then you should find some wheelweights or linotype to harden it more.

I will be casting for .38 Sp at 750 fps, .40 S&W at 900 fps, and .45 ACP at 800 fps.

will 2% tin be enough for these loads? I use Allox lubes.

arcticbreeze
12-12-2009, 09:44 PM