PDA

View Full Version : Coefficient of thermal expansion for Pb ?

robroy
11-30-2009, 07:57 PM
Who can tell me this tidbit and how much alloying metals change it. If possible please no unitless constants.:roll:

HORNET
12-01-2009, 09:43 AM
The material properties tables say 15.1 micro-inch/inch-degree F. I ought to learn how to do scientific notation on here someday.

Calamity Jake
12-01-2009, 10:13 AM
Who can tell me this tidbit and how much alloying metals change it. If possible please no unitless constants.:roll:

The material properties tables say 15.1 micro-inch/inch-degree F. I ought to learn how to do scientific notation on here someday.

15.1 Micro-inch = .0000151 inches. At 700° that's .0106 inches expansion. Changeing the alloy and maintaining the same volume won't make a measureable difference.

I'm by no means a scientist, but why is it even important?

HORNET
12-01-2009, 10:31 AM
You've got to remember that that is per inch of length. So, if we look at 600 degrees (probably melted before 700 degrees) and something 100" long, you get a length change of .797". That could make a difference in some applications, not necessarily for Lead, but definitely for other materials and higher temperature ranges.

lwknight
12-01-2009, 06:50 PM
Lead is basically considered "dead" compared to things like copper,steel and especially aluminum. There is noteable shrinkage upon solidification. As far as hot day VS cool day and boolit size, That would be really hard to measure.

robroy
12-01-2009, 07:34 PM
Thanks much I am looking at how much bigger a mould needs to be to drop a specific size boolit. I've been told a .359 boolit needs a .360 mould. I'm just checking this out with an eye to making one for paper patch.

HORNET
12-01-2009, 08:36 PM