PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on Adjusting my Lyman 450

odinohi
11-27-2009, 10:19 AM
Lube is getting in the lube groove evenly, but is also getting all over my gas check. This is my first time using a lubesizer. The lube on the gas check is making a total mess on my brass when loading. Also the gas checks arent crimped on well at all. They are coming off when I remove the sized and lubed bullet fro the sizer. The bullet is a 429244 HP. Gas checks are Lyman in the gray and black striped box. Lube is Orange magic. I'm running a homemade heater on the sizer and that does seem to be working well. The sizer die is a Lyman .430" and it has 2 holes on each side. If I set my stop too high its not lubing the lube groove and when I lower it too much its getting lube all over the oglive of the bullet. Is there a way to plug off that bottom hole? Thanks in advance guys, Tom

Shiloh
11-27-2009, 10:54 AM
Is the sizer die too large??

Is the depth rod adjusted correctly??

Shiloh

hornady
11-27-2009, 10:58 AM
My guess would be too much heat on the lube. Or too much pressure on the Luber .I have used Orange Magic with out heat. But I lube in a heated Basement. I now use white label with a Lyman heater. There is a post on hear about hooking a light dimmer up to control the heat. As to the GC. I use Hornady crimp on checks. I don’t know about the Lyman. You may have a bad Base on your cast bullets.

Gunslinger
11-27-2009, 11:04 AM
As Hornady mentioned, maybe too much heat. The problem you describe is normal with crappy Lyman dies, due to the placements of the holes. Get RCBS dies, their holes are placed horizontally which is much better.

The loose gas checks could be a problem with the mold. This can be corrected by polishing out the shank area of the mold.... I've never done this, but I'm certain someone here can help you. Also you can try annealing the checks.

Good luck

NuJudge
11-27-2009, 11:08 AM