PDA

View Full Version : Coleman Camp Stove

Boondocker
11-25-2009, 06:00 PM
I was just given a this stove and they say it runs on gas. I have seen alot of post with guys using these. I have seen coleman fuel and some use gasoline. When I was a kid pumping gas folks use to come in for the lead free Amoco hightest ( white gas). What do you use now as all gas is lead free. Thanks Boon

Storydude
11-25-2009, 06:03 PM
Whatever Gasoline I have on hand.

Premix kinda eats the generators and makes them hard to get going, old gas burns funny.

I've been using that for 20 years and no ill effects yet...but then again, my newest Coleman stove was from the mid 60's too.

higgins
11-25-2009, 06:17 PM
If I were going to burn the tank empty soon after I bought the gas, I might use gasoline, but I tend to keep stove and lantern gas on hand for a few (or several)years before I use it up. Since gas now seems to go bad so soon for other uses, with all the additives in use today I'd rather buy the Coleman fuel since it seems to have a much longer shelf life. If you really need the stove or lantern for emergencies like when the power is off for a while, I feel better with Coleman fuel in the tanks. Back when I was in Boy Scouts in the 60s we used Amoco white gas, but the gas was pure and it didn't stay in the troop gas can long enough to go bad.

lwknight
11-25-2009, 06:32 PM
Seems like all the gasoline that I get lately collects water.
I cant keep gasoline more than a few weeks and I never pour the last bit.
I don't know if there is even gasoline that does not have some ethynol in it.

Gerry N.
11-25-2009, 06:56 PM