PDA

View Full Version : Another day with the .44 Lipsey Special

Dale53
10-29-2009, 08:48 PM
The sun was shining, the wind was a bit frisky, the temps were in the high sixties, and the leaves were broadcasting the message:

"This is fall and winter is around the corner."

I took the Ruger .44 Lipsey Special 5 ½" to the range to celebrate being alive. I had a couple of loads with me:

1 - 240 gr LBT WFN at target velocity (4.2 grs of Clays) and Win LP primers.

2 - The old Skeeter load (7.5 grs of Unique behind a H&G #503 255
gr Keith bullet). This runs about 950 fps.

I have mentioned my vision problems before. However, I was seeing pretty well with my auxiliary flip up 1.5 power magnifiers. I have also found that Birchwood-Casey's sight black helps a good bit. Our range faces the wrong direction (South instead of North) but it is what we have so we work with the light.

I started shooting and the first target did not go very well. However, I started working at it and things got better.

I shot some of the lighter target loads first and the LBT WFN shot well, even at the lower velocities. Then I switched to the MiHec H&G #503 Clone and I was still right on in the "x" ring when I did my part. Even tho' the bullets are quite different in design (the LBT's are a bit lighter, too) and the velocity is seriously different (the LBT's aren't going much over 700 fps) these bullets shot to exactly the same point of aim.

This is something that I have noticed with the .44 Special. If you are using the same bullet, it will shoot to the same point of impact at 25, 50, 75, and 100 yards regardless of velocity (at least, in MY .44 Specials - S&W 624, S&W Model 24, Cimarron SSA clone, and the new Ruger .44 Lipsey Special). This seems to work regardless of the powder type or amount (within safe limits, of course). Elmer Keith mentioned this way back in 1936 and it has been proven to me countless times over fifty + years of shooting centerfire handguns.