PDA

View Full Version : Bullets oversized from caster

dej5320
10-19-2009, 12:31 PM
I'm new to reloading, and recently ordered some cast bullets for 45 colt and 44 mag. I ordered .452 and .430 bullets, and when I received them they miked at .453 and .431. My question is what is an acceptable margin for error on these bullets. If they are offered in increments of .001 wouldn't you expect them to be delivered pretty much exact. The only reason I am asking is that the 45 keiths will not chamber in my blackhawk. I am planning on having the throats reamed this week, but after the reaming i will still have a problem chambering a .453 bullet in a .4525 throat, right? Anyway, I would hate to have to ship back 500 bullets because of .001", but I expected to get what i ordered.

Bullshop
10-19-2009, 12:46 PM
I dont think this is the answer you want to hear but you can buy a Lee sizer for a very reasonable price then size the boolits to what you want. Having your own die will solve any further problems in the future with any oversize issues.
It takes me about 30 minutes to run 500 through a Lee sizer so the additional time cost is not that great.
Thats what I would do. I think that would be much better than the rest of your options!
BIC/BS

dej5320
10-19-2009, 01:20 PM
I thought about that, don't you have to lube the bullets to run them through the die? Regardless, shouldn't this step have been performed by the caster? I just expected to have bullets that were ready to shoot.

454PB
10-19-2009, 01:44 PM
Yes, you should have received what you ordered, and the supplier should make it right. You should first have another handloader with an accurate micrometer measure those diameters. It is unusual for a commercial caster to sell oversized boolits. However, you may want to wait until the cylinder throats are increased. Sometimes the portion of the seated boolit that protrudes into the throat is small enough to allow chambering.