PDA

View Full Version : Dan Wesson playing up.

lead Foot
10-09-2009, 04:33 PM
I now use my 10".357mag for silhouette only. I use a RCBS 35-200-fn heavy load.
With light loads the gun cycles just fine but now with heavy loads it just wont though the first shot is ok. It will cycle dry with your thumb on the cylinder. does this sounld like the hand spring. Your thoughts gents.
Lead foot;

7br
10-09-2009, 07:05 PM
I was having similar problems with my 8" 41mag. I was not crimping my bullets good enough. Bullets would back out making the oal considerably longer. (Is that actually "Backing forwards"?) Ogive of the bullet was against the throat the cartridge base was against the frame. It was enough to cause binding. Bizarre thing about it was this is the same load I have been using for 5 years and I don't think I have moved the ring on the seating die. I did adjust seating depth to use a different bullet.

750k2
10-09-2009, 11:51 PM
Make sure your bbl is not binding on the cylinder - some like to tighten as they are shot
and soon the forcing cone is against the cylinder - tighten bbl nut:drinks:

44man
10-10-2009, 09:14 AM
Check cylinder gap at each chamber. Some of those guns have cylinders that are not faced true in the front.

Maven
10-11-2009, 06:53 PM
Exactly what 750k2 and 44man said!

StarMetal
10-11-2009, 07:29 PM
44man,

I'm confused. He said with light loads it's fine, but with heavy it will fire the one and then bind, but yet he can cycle the cylinder with his thumb. How can it be the cylinder face isn't true then?

Joe

44man
10-11-2009, 10:07 PM
44man,

I'm confused. He said with light loads it's fine, but with heavy it will fire the one and then bind, but yet he can cycle the cylinder with his thumb. How can it be the cylinder face isn't true then?

Joe