PDA

View Full Version : New Pocket Model authenticity question.

S.R.Custom
10-06-2009, 12:53 PM
So I have this consignment gun listed for sale...

http://tinyurl.com/ycsuu74

...and the history in the listing is as represented to me by the owner. But I don't buy it. It looks too good. Like it's had a restoration within the past 20 years or so. What do y'all think?

Uncle R.
10-06-2009, 01:07 PM
I'm no expert so my opinion means nothing.
That said - dang! It sure is pretty...
If it's been refinished outside of the factory whoever did it was a real artist.
Uncle R.

9.3X62AL
10-06-2009, 01:32 PM
It's a nice shooting example "on sight", for sure. The lettering and the "rampant Colt" don't show "filling" like some re-blues will. I'm not a collector--I'm a shooter, so a question of rebuild or refinish isn't critical to my needs--if it is done well. The appearance of the ratchet and ejector star's finish isn't as smooth and polished as that of the exterior's luster, but that may only mean firing with corrosive priming and less attention given to cleaning that that given to bore/chambers/exterior. Is the bottom step of the advancing hand's condition consistent with the level of wear shown on the ratchet edges? Finally, the caliber itself may lend itself to very little firing activity for the past 40-50 years. None of the 32s have been real market monsters since WWII, and ammo in 32 Colt has been scarce and expensive for quite some time. It could very well have "sat" since its re-barreling.

Just my random thoughts, bouncing around after seeing the pics.

lathesmith
10-06-2009, 01:34 PM