PDA

View Full Version : Frosted boolits

stillwell
09-28-2009, 11:28 AM
i am new to casting and it seams that the only time my mould runs well is when it is HOT. the more i read on frosted boolits the more confused i get some say dont worry about it some say they should be smooth and shiny. is there a solid answer to my question????

docone31
09-28-2009, 11:31 AM
Frosted is good.

Matt_G
09-28-2009, 11:35 AM
Not a dang thing wrong with frosted boolits, IMHO.
If the mould has to be run hot to get good fillout, you really have no choice right?
Poor fillout is a much worse problem than some frosting on the boolits.
And that is assuming frosted is a problem, which I don't think it is.

I have several moulds that demand high temps, therefore frosted boolits.
They are every bit as accurate as unfrosted boolits.

Just my 2 cents worth.

stillwell
09-28-2009, 11:40 AM
i have been using lee moulds mostly because of the price diff. from what i have read some of those all ways have to be run hot. i have noticed that when they get hot the sprue breaks after i cut it (when it hits the bench) i am conserned that the boolits may brittle

Matt_G
09-28-2009, 11:47 AM
i have been using lee moulds mostly because of the price diff. from what i have read some of those all ways have to be run hot. i have noticed that when they get hot the sprue breaks after i cut it (when it hits the bench) i am conserned that the boolits may brittle

Temp has nothing to do with the sprue breaking when hitting the bench.
That is a function of the alloy.
What are you casting with?
WW's, linotype, monotype, unknown...?

Wait two seconds after the sprue has hardened before cutting, if you're not already.
Does the sprue still break when hitting the bench?

zxcvbob
09-28-2009, 11:48 AM
Mmmmm.... Frosting.

~(_8^(1)

oldhickory
09-28-2009, 11:49 AM