PDA

View Full Version : Armi sport 1863 .451 rifle

senormik
09-13-2009, 10:29 AM
Hi all,

I'm new to cast boolits and blackpowder but I would like to try shooting an armi sport 1863 paper cartridge Sharps rifle that I bought several years ago while stationed in Germany. Perhaps foolishly, I got one in .45 cal. I don't want to invest in casting my own boolits until I know I'm going to enjoy the rifle, and so far the only cast boolits I can find that are close are 45lc slugs between 300-400 grains and running at .452 diameter. Most of these are gas checked. Any idea if these are acceptible to shoot in this rifle (bore marked .451)? They all seem to be hard cast as well, so I'm not sure they'll obdurate to grab the rifling well. Any thoughts or suggestions you have would be helpful. Thanks!

59sharps
09-13-2009, 06:59 PM
You need a hollow base bullet. about .002 under your actual bore dia. You can check w/ Dixie Gun works and also Ball Accuary I'm sure there are others but they are the ones I can think of at this time. Try the N-SSA board or home page for a list of sutlers.
once you know what you need then start casting your own. and they need to be pure lead
you may want to ask the mod to move this to muzzleloading section

senormik
09-13-2009, 07:38 PM
Thanks very much for your response. I should have clarified in my original email, it's an 1863 Sharps breech loader. I think I was told at one time or another that I would want a bullet that is a bit over the nominal bore diameter for this type of rifle. Does this sound right? Something about if the bullet was smaller than the bore, the gasses generated during firing would melt more lead in the bore I think.

59sharps
09-13-2009, 10:44 PM