PDA

View Full Version : Sizing ?

desteve811
09-06-2009, 09:34 AM
I am new to casting and would like to know how do i determine what size to size my cast bullet to? I will be casting only handgun bullets. (357,44, 45) All help is much appreciated.

Duckdog
09-06-2009, 09:55 AM
I ususally go .001 over the barrel diameter... .357= .358 etc. I usually try them without sizing first, as most of the time you don't need to size them, unless you mold is dropping them excessively over the intended diameter. I also us a Lee factory crimp die, which is the same diameter as the standard chamber. If the finished round goes through that die, it will chamber.

Good Luck

mooman76
09-06-2009, 09:59 AM
First thing you need to do is slug the barrels ofyour guns to find out what size they are. All guns run slightly different sizes. Just because a guns is disigned to use a .451 bullet does not mean the barrel is that size. You slug a barrel by running a lead(perferably pure or soft) down the barrel and measure it. A round lead ball like they use for muzzle loadrs works real well and some use those lead egg shaped sinkers. On revolvers you need to slug the cyls. too. Then you want your bullets to be .001-.002 over the slug size.
Another thing you can do is shoot them as cast or size to the size they should be. If you get no leading then you are good but if you do, you have lead to clean out. It is est to eventually slug all you guns though for future refference becaus at some point it comes in handy.

buck1
09-06-2009, 10:15 AM
I size to the throat diamater of the cylinder. This ensures a centered boolit . The forcing cone in the bbl will size it to bbl dimater when fired.
This gives a good snug fit all the way, and keeps the fouling down.
Sluging is best , but calipers will get you what you need. Use the largest throat size you get to size to. ...Buck

runfiverun
09-06-2009, 10:50 AM