PDA

View Full Version : CB for various .308s

aimlowsqueeze
04-11-2006, 09:30 PM
I own several milsurp rifles that shoot a .308 jacketed bullet. They include 3 k31's that mike out at .307 and a Springfield '03 that mikes at .308 and an Enfield 2A1 that mikes at .308. What do you guys think of sizing all my CBs to .309 and using them across the board or do you think it is worth the time and effort to size some at .309 and some at .310? I am new to CB shooting and really appreciate any help. Oh by the way, what is the rule of thumb for using Dacron (or any other fiber) filler?

NVcurmudgeon
04-11-2006, 11:37 PM
aimlowsqueeze, what you are suggessting is a trick that has worked very well for me. I have a Lyman 314299 mould that I bought for my .303 British (groove diameter .3138".) I size it .314" for the Lee-Enfield. Then I tried it sized .310" in my .30/06 Springfield (groove diameter .3085".) It was unbelievably accurate there, too. Next up was my sporterized Krag (groove diameter .309", boolits sized .310") The .30/40 managed a ten-shot 100 yd. group of 2.14". My newly aquired 1891 Argentine Mauser (groove diameter .3105") will be next. Looks like the Argie will need a .312" sizing die. Because your rifles are closer together in groove diameter than mine, you may get good accuracy sizing the same for all three. BTW I am using the same load in all three rifles, C.E. Harris' go-to load for most milsurps of 16.0 gr. 2400. For your rifles the 311299 version of the same boolit may be a good one.

Bass Ackward
04-12-2006, 06:14 AM
ALS,

I size everything in a .3095 sizer which was an outta round .309 Lee sizer prior to correction. It works (< MOA) in three 30-06s which one is an 03A3 sporter.