PDA

View Full Version : Sorta Lever - CPA 44 1/2

6pt-sika
04-10-2006, 12:49 AM
I'm thinking long and hard about the purchase of a CPA 44 1/2 in Schuetzen style in 32-40 caliber . I've been drooling over this for a couple years .
Anybody here have one or shot one ? It doesn't have to be a Schuetzen , any CPA will do.

For those that are not familier with these , they are a copy of the old Stevens 44 1/2 single shot rifle . But they have levers like an 1885 winchester.

www.singleshotrifles.com

Dale53
04-10-2006, 01:24 AM
I have a CPA Stevens-Pope 44 1/2 in 32/40 with a #4 barrel (rather heavy). It is a great Schuetzen rifle. Extremely accurate, if you do your part. I use breech seated bullets (custom bullet mould, as cast, with Emmert's Home Mix). Use rifle primers. I am an active Schuetzen competitor.

Dale53

Bullshop
04-10-2006, 01:26 AM
I have an origonal for sale.
BIC/BS

6pt-sika
04-10-2006, 04:04 AM
I have a CPA Stevens-Pope 44 1/2 in 32/40 with a #4 barrel (rather heavy). It is a great Schuetzen rifle. Extremely accurate, if you do your part. I use breech seated bullets (custom bullet mould, as cast, with Emmert's Home Mix). Use rifle primers. I am an active Schuetzen competitor.

Dale53

You shoot at Beeson's Range at Etna Green ?

Do you shoot the over 40 cal class as well ?

I've been to one schuetzen match at the Fairfax Rod and Gun Club in Manasas VA. Sadly it was raining that day so there were not very many people there.Went there expressly to see a rifle like yours . There was a nice looking Miller there , but they do not appeal to me.

I want one in 32-40 then add three or four other barrels later. You ever fool with the 25-20SS or 25-21 Stevens ? Or how about the 28-30 Stevens ?Also would like a 38-55 barrel but that would be last . I think 25 , 28 , 32 and 38 would make a nice setup.

4060MAY
04-10-2006, 09:28 AM