PDA

View Full Version : Where to look?

qajaq59
09-01-2009, 04:46 PM
I've been loading for many years but I have never even looked at the Surplus powders. However.... We just moved, and since the price of powder in this area is $7 a pound higher then the east coast of Florida I'm thinking of using some of the surplus powders.
However, I haven't a clue as to what kind powder to use, where to look in order to find out what the loads would be, or even where to buy it.
I shoot all 30 caliber rifles. 30-30 .308, and 30-06. And 90% of it is cast bullets. And I'll generally go thru 75-100 a week, so I do use a bit of powder. Are there sites, books, or whatever, where I can match the commercial powders to a surplus? As in IMR 3031 would be equal to ___ ? Or is that not possible, and everyone just wings it with a surplus powder?

Any education you'd care to give out I would appreciate getting.

Thanks

Maven
09-01-2009, 08:06 PM
Here are 3 surplus powder suppliers: www.hi-techammo.com, www.patsreloading.com, and www.gibrass.com As for milsurp powders to use in the English and metric .30cals. (but NOT the .30-30Win.), you may want to search our archives for suggestions, but several possiblilities come to mind:

Very slow powders: WC 860 (ball); WC872 (ball); IMR 5010 (extruded, but large pieces: doesn't flow through a powder measure very well). In a typical .30cal. cartridge, e.g., .30-06, with a 175gr. - 195gr. CB, you'll need 48gr. or more of any one of these to get to 1,750fps. IMR 5010 and WC 860 burn a bit cleaner if you use a LR mag. primer, but even so there's a lot of unburned powder.