PDA

View Full Version : How many rounds untill leading

primerless
08-12-2009, 11:02 PM
Hello all..... I am new to casting and have started with the RCBS 09-124-EN mould. I used 50 ww and 50 lead. The average weight was 127grains.
The lead was from an old sailboat, it was not as hard as the ww but it was harder than the stick on ww so it is not pure pb. I just shot about 60 rounds that were loaded with 4.2 universal clay. My fisrt cast boolits fired was just as fun as the first handload I loaded years ago.

The question is....have I shot enough rounds to tell if there is a problem with leading yet.

mooman76
08-12-2009, 11:35 PM
I'd say you shot enough.

Buckshot
08-13-2009, 01:39 AM
..............primerless, first of all, welcome to the board! If your load had accuracy issues due to leading, you would have known about it long before 60 rounds went downrange.

..............Buckshot

Shiloh
08-13-2009, 05:08 AM
What Buckshot says. What does the barrel look like?

Shiloh

primerless
08-13-2009, 11:39 PM
Thanks yall for the response and thanks for having me onboard. I am sure you will be hearing from me again.

I have been reading alot here and have already learded alot, and I am looking forward to learning more, yall have alot to offer.
I was a little excited light night after shooting my first cast boolit's and how well they grouped, After I cleaned my gun today I did find a little lead but the rounds last night had grouped very well.

I still have a little room to try a hotter load and see if I can get a little cleaner barrel. If that does not work I will try adding a little more ww to the recipe.

What do yall think?

Thanks again for your response.

Buckshot
08-14-2009, 03:13 AM
................Accumulative leading is what a lot of folks MEAN when they say leading. It's bad. First couple of shots may be okay but rapidly deteriorates form there.