PDA

View Full Version : Need help with RCBS lube sizer

walker77
08-12-2009, 09:49 PM
Im new to casting. Im having problem with my new sizer. Im using Lyman sizing dies and top punch. I started out trying to size 44 mag. But the lube is getting all over the nose. Ive tried to adjust it but it doesnt seem to go high enough to stop it on the lube grooves. What am i doing wrong? Thanks!

GP100man
08-12-2009, 11:48 PM
cut down on the pressure first. if the boolit is a little small & not tite in the die it`ll squirt by always & a soft touch on the pressure screw is a must.
if ya got the stop adjusted all the way up you can take the die out & plug the top row of holes , then adjust down .
if ya heating the lube cool it down a little , soft lube being heated will compound the problem.
last of all do you have the correct die ????

Gunslinger
08-13-2009, 03:13 AM
I ran into the exact same problem not long ago... lube all over the boolits no matter how high I adjusted the die. I switched to RCBS dies.... and now the only place my boolits have lube is where it's supposed to be!

softpoint
08-13-2009, 08:12 AM
See if the depth rod locking nut is on the very bottom of is on the top of the threaded part of the casting. Mine came with the nut on the bottom, and if you take the rod out and put the locknut on top, you can get a little more height adjustment out of it.
I have RCBS sizer, but all of my sizer dies are Lyman, I haven't run into any situation where they weren't compatible.:drinks:

Calamity Jake
08-13-2009, 08:29 AM
Yap just plug the top row of holes with #4 shot then it is easy to adjust for any boolit.

epj
08-13-2009, 10:38 AM
Sounds to me like the bullet is going too far down in the die. Try adjusting so that the bullet only goes down far enough to line up the lube groove with the top holes in the die. Use only enough heat and/or pressure to get lube in the groove.

captain-03
08-13-2009, 10:58 AM