PDA

View Full Version : free wheel weights

JMtoolman
08-01-2009, 05:10 PM
Just got back from getting my third set of tires in three weeks! My dealer was good to me for the second time. He put three buckets of wheel weights in the back of the jeep. Just weighed them and there was 340 pounds in there before melting them! This is on top of the 320 Lbs. he gave me a couple of weeks ago! I should be set for quite a few years of casting. Give your tire dealer some business and he might be kind to you. I have been using the same one for about thirty years. Best regards, John the toolman.

PhoenixRising
08-01-2009, 08:03 PM
I have been stopping by at my local discount tire store and have been successful by retreiving 2 boxes in exchange for a box of fresh donuts in the morning. Lately the manager has been transfered and the new one is a stickler. Pretty bummed but will contiune to ask for a few boxes next time I buy some new tires. Hopefully before they pass the new wheel weight laws.

mtgrs737
08-01-2009, 08:30 PM
I quit buying tires at one dealers shop just because he stood me up on his promise of a couple of buckets of WW's. He found that he could scrap the weights and opted to do that, but that was when lead was high. I wonder if he misses my tire business now that lead is selling lower. My new tire guy provides five times the weights and his tires roll just as well!

By the way I paid both dealers for the weights so it was not like they were giving them to me.

Chunky Monkey
08-01-2009, 09:18 PM
I quit buying tires at one dealers shop just because he stood me up on his promise of a couple of buckets of WW's. He found that he could scrap the weights and opted to do that, but that was when lead was high. I wonder if he misses my tire business now that lead is selling lower. My new tire guy provides five times the weights and his tires roll just as well!

By the way I paid both dealers for the weights so it was not like they were giving them to me.