PDA

View Full Version : Lee 452-200 SWC Issue

will-mo
07-30-2009, 02:39 PM
I'm new to casting. I had be purchasing 200g SWC from various places. I ordered the Lee becuase the price was right, its a 6 cavity and the reviews on MIDWAYUSA indicated its a good mold.

The bullets cast and drop great, but the bullet design isn't like the other 200g SWC bullets I purchased. The Lee bullets are kinda miniature compared to a H&G #68. They are also causing some feed problems in my pistol that I didn't have before. The bullets are dropping out at 192g or so. I'm using 18# WW and 2# 50/50

The description from others about this mold are that its a close copy of the H&G #68, but I don't think its very close at all.

Can someone tell me if I expect too much... Anyone have a similar issue..?

Thanks,
Will

mtgrs737
07-30-2009, 02:58 PM
I had two 6 cavity Lee 45 cal. 200gr. SWC moulds and both had to be loaded so the shoulder was flush with the case mouth to have a chance at feeding in my 1911's. My nethew had the same problem in his Kimber. The nose is a little longer than my other H&G 68 or Saeco #69 moulds which also have a slightly larger and more rounded meplat. I would suggest the Saeco #69 mould or one of the H&G 68 copies on the Group Buy forum. Seat the Lee so the shoulder is flush with the case mouth and be very picky about the taper crimp and it should feed better in a throated gun. My H&G copies and Saeco #69 feed 100% with about .010" of the shoulder forward of the case mouth. Good luck!

will-mo
07-30-2009, 03:11 PM
The true H&G #68/69 I keep at around 1.250 oal. I gotta stretch the Lee's to 1.260 or I get a mess of jams from various mags. My taper crimp is .469. The H&G 68 feed 100%, no issues.

I'll probably go with the group buy when they start it up again.

Will

putteral
07-30-2009, 03:44 PM