PDA

View Full Version : PP rifle question

pbbutz
07-27-2009, 01:09 PM
Can the base of the PP boolit project past the neck and into the powder space or is that going to be trouble like most cast applications? I am new to this PP business .....:confused:

Butz

docone31
07-27-2009, 01:54 PM
It has been my experience, it presents no issues.
That is in my .30 cal., and my .303 British.
I load them like jacketeds.

303Guy
07-27-2009, 02:13 PM
I load them like jacketeds. Oh! I had the idea you didn't. Interesting!

There is an instance when it likely should not be done and that is when a 'dough-nut' exists - one significant enough to influence the boolit anyway. But then that is true of J-words also.

docone31
07-27-2009, 02:59 PM
I wrap mine .001 over jacketed spec, unless the bore is larger such as the .303. I seat them as I would a jacketed bullet without a crimp. I use jacketed load data.

303Guy
07-27-2009, 04:55 PM
docone31, is it permissable to allow the boolit to be pushed back into the case a little by virtue of it contacting the leade? Or would that create inconsistencies with seating depth? (It does create problems with extracting un-fired rounds! And Murphy's law states the boolit will pull out the case on that one occasion when you have not used a filler and you have forgotten your cleaning rod at home! [smilie=1: I just know these things instinctively. :mrgreen: )

docone31
07-27-2009, 05:41 PM
I do not let my castings touch the leade, I set them as per SAAMI specs as if they were jacketeds.
That has been my winning combination in my rifles.
I use full loads with no filler.

303Guy
07-27-2009, 06:50 PM
Oh! Thanks for that! In which case New 303 Brit mold is ready for production!

The whole time I was thinking I had to fit the boolit to above the shoulder junction and have a near contact fit with the leade. Is there a limit to how far past the shoulder juction a boolit can be seated?

docone31
07-27-2009, 07:19 PM