PDA

View Full Version : My first gloat...........; )

Nate1778
07-24-2009, 03:23 PM
I am a roofing contractor by trade. That said I was looking at a leak we created at an auto shop here in town. After finding the leak and letting the owner know, I inquired to what he did with his old wheel weights. The guy said he threw them away when the bin got full, but he would look to see what he had. Long story short I walked away from that shop with a two and half gallon bucket full of wheel weights. Left there and went down the street to visit my local mom and pop gun store to see if he had any lead ingots left over. No ingots left, man, but he said he had about 200lbs of wheel weights he would let go for .60 a pound. I said would you take .40 he said sure. We went and got them, weighed them, and he said $75 bucks. At that point I did not want to spend that much so I asked if he would sell half of them, he said sure, as he looked at those heavy boxes he said $50 for the lot, SOLD!

250 lbs of wheel weights for $50, not bad.

putteral
07-24-2009, 03:27 PM
Well Done!
:drinks:

sheepdog
07-24-2009, 03:31 PM
More can be found here http://tinyurl.com/bqqrvx

Nate1778
07-24-2009, 04:02 PM
Love the Rickster................:mrgreen:

sheepdog
07-24-2009, 04:04 PM
Everyone needs a good Rickrollin now and then.

Nate1778
07-24-2009, 05:46 PM
OK, looking at them and too lazy to use the "Search" function, whats the diff from lead and zinc. The guy at the gun store that sold me the weights said they were old and there should be no zinc at all, I believe him as some of them look like they came off the first Model T's. But the bucket I got from the mechanics shop I have no clue how to tell the difference. Any help?

sheepdog
07-24-2009, 06:14 PM